It’s The Simple Things

My grandson went to the zoo this week.  It’s such a simple thing, but it got me thinking about Father’s Day this Sunday.

10355853_10103774201362111_8500604290556382765_n

There were seven kids in my family and time spent with my Dad was precious and rare. But a few of those kid times have really stuck with me.  My Dad liked to garden, and he would let any one of us follow him around with our little shovels and pails and help him plant or pick the flowers.  A couple of times on Sunday afternoon, he actually took all of us bowling. That was a big treat for us, probably not so much for the bowling alley.  My Dad and his brother started a car dealership in the fifties.  The dealership was closed on Wednesday nights and every once in a while the whole family would pile into the station wagon and go to my Dad’s work after hours.  We were allowed to run through the offices and play on the ten key adding machines.  What could be better.

P1010226_2_2_2

My kids are thirty and twenty-seven but they still talk about  the list that my husband had on the refrigerator of the things that he and the kids were going to do over the summer. There was always an amusement park, but mostly it was going to the playground, riding the train in the park, going to the zoo or eating ice cream at the local stand.  Simple things!

10338235_10103720517010981_444207786364964336_n

So I relish seeing my grandson starting to do these things with his family because I know these are the times that will stay in his memory for the rest of his life.

Happy Father’s Day to all the wonderful Dads!

 

This entry was posted in Children, Family, Grandparents, Holidays, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s The Simple Things

  1. When I ask my boys (who are 33 and 28) about their favourite memories of ‘family time’, it’s the small things they recall – badminton in the backyard, pool parties (also in the backyard), staying up late to look for fireflies and watching the bats flying about, going to the park every night after dinner. They also remember the trips to Disney World and camping trips, etc. but it seems to be the simple things that mean the most to them.

    • seniledenial says:

      Thanks for the comment. Truth be told Disneyland and Disney World trips are very high on the list for both of my kids. At 30 and 28 they both would like to go one more time with us. 🙂

  2. benzeknees says:

    When I was young, my parents dragged us camping in a tent trailer every summer. My father’s parents & siblings were in Alberta & B.C. (I grew up in Manitoba), we had family in Spokane, Wash. so every year we would go visit someone. Lots of car riding, back in the days when you didn’t have to wear seat belts so my mother would put a couple pillows in the middle of the back seat between my sister & I. If one of us wanted a nap we could lay on our sides with our heads on the pillow & our feet on the floor. I always had books to read, my sisters had her Barbie dolls.
    I didn’t do long trips with my kids. We would go to a friend’s cottage for a week or for a couple years I rented a cottage & took the girls with me.

    • seniledenial says:

      No long car trips for my family, about half of us got carsick at the drop of a hat. But I always wished that we could go to a cottage in the summer. I bet your kids remember lots about the cottage vacations. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

