Blurred Life

I always go kicking and screaming into the holidays.  Nobody Almost no one likes it when the Christmas carols start in the stores the day after Halloween.  But for me the anxiety starts as soon as I hear the first Fa-la-la-la-la or see the first Elf on the Shelf commercial. By the time I get to Auld Lang Syne the holidays seem like a big blur!!

60992

The holidays are here again and I can’t help but think about just how fast the world is moving.

It’s not letter writing……..it’s sending an email.

It’s not pictures on film……it’s digital.

It’s not photos in a scrapbook…….it’s Facebook and Instagram.

It’s not TV and movies…….it’s Netflix and YouTube.

Now it’s not even emails…….it’s 140 characters on Twitter.

It’s not 3 minute videos on YouTube……it’s 6 second videos on Vine.

Don’t get me wrong.  I like all the new technology,  I keep up with family near and far on social media.  I am entertained by viral videos of animals, babies and new artists.  I have used twitter to keep up on breaking news from around the world.  I am sure I will shop online rather than run from store to store.

FoCo-Holiday-Lights-1_2

But, this holiday season I vow to stop and smell the evergreen, cinnamon and peppermint, enjoy the lights that turn our downtown into a sparkling fairyland and savor every moment of time with my family as our new grandson marvels at his first Christmas.

For anyone who has not seen a Vine video, here are a few that were shown on Ellen.

All You Need Is 6 Seconds.

This entry was posted in Children, Christmas, Family, Holidays, Life, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blurred Life

  1. I saw my first Christmas commercial on TV on November 1 and I actually said (out loud) “Aren’t they a little late? Christmas is over.” I just hadn’t connected the fact that it was November already and Christmas had rolled around once again! It’s too much, too soon. We all need to slow down and enjoy the season!

  2. Forest So Green says:

    I really enjoy the Christmas lights too and I thinks its a great time of year to slow down 🙂 Annie

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    I’m clicking on that video next, as I haven’t seen such. It’s magical I’m sure, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

