Yin-Yang and Moving Forward

I am feeling the yin and yang of the universe, the interconnectedness of what, on the surface, appears to be natural dualities: dark and light, hot and cold, life and death, male and female.

Ying-Yang

It is a beautiful spring day here.  The sky is blue, and the temperature is pushing seventy degrees and the green shoots of spring flowers are just beginning to appear.  It is a day that makes you happy to be alive!

P1010430

Of course none of this would happen if we didn’t experience the cold dark days of the dormant winter.  We felt the extremes of the seasons in the last few days as a cold blustery winter storm one day gave way to warm and sunny weather the next.

P1010428_2

P1000713

So, we move on from the dark of the winter to the promise of the spring.  As I spend more time with my new grandson, I find myself singing a lullaby or reciting a nursery rhyme to him that my Mother taught me when I was a little girl.  The sharp grief of the loss of my Mom just a few weeks ago has already softened into sweet memories of her that I can pass on to that new baby boy I hold in my arms.

376216_10102140675640751_752535595_n_2

Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.        Dr Seuss

This entry was posted in Children, Family, Life, Nature, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yin-Yang and Moving Forward

  1. Pingback: Tension as a tool for Balance | A Friend to Yourself

Leave a Reply

