The Circle Is Closed

It has been a couple of weeks since I have blogged.  As I mentioned in my last post my daughter was beyond her due date and still no sign of the baby.  At the same time my 94-year-old mom was taken to the hospital after some sort of seizure or stroke.

Well, the baby boy was born eight days after his due date.  We are absolutely thrilled with our first grandchild.  It is a uniquely wonderful thing to watch my daughter and her husband turn into warm and loving parents of this newborn.

376216_10102140675640751_752535595_n

However, I guess it was not meant to be that I get back home in time to say good-bye to Mom.  For the last few years she has been very frail.  I never missed my opportunity, when I went to visit, to let her know that I loved her very much.   In fact I visited a few months ago and when I was leaving I gave my Mom a big hug and told her I loved her.  She lifted her head and looked at me with her clear blues eyes.  That was something that she did not usually do, and at that moment I felt in my heart that I would not see her again and I think that she knew it too.

P1010225_2

My Mom passed away while I was still with my daughter and her new son.  She was a wonderful mother, she will be in my heart always and I will miss her very much.

This entry was posted in Aging, Children, Family, Life, Parents and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

