Mindful Living

So the New Year begins, 2013.  I am ready for it.  The good things that happened in 2012 were overshadowed by devastating wildfires, heartbreaking mass shootings, super storm Sandy and a contentious election season that seemed to last forever.  I am ready for that new start, that clean slate feeling.  As Oprah Winfrey said, “Cheers to a new year and another chance for us to get it right.”

new-years-toast-ipad-background-150x150

I am not a big resolution person, but my husband and I have always try to give each new year a theme.  Just one word themes to keep us focused:  the year of   “babies” (2 babies under three), the year of  “transitions” (moving to a new city with a new job),  the year of “survival” (we’ve had a couple of those).  So this year we are embracing the theme of “mindful living” (a two-word theme this year).

51WG3YC6V3L._SL500_AA300_

I know that the whole mindful living  thing is a big trend right now, but I like the idea of not letting your life go by in a blur.  We are expecting our first grandchild in a couple of weeks.  We have a business in transition, and we both are moving into our sixties.  So paying a little more attention to our children, our new grandchild, our health, our diet, the business and each other is the plan for 2013.

file000537975192

May all your wishes, resolutions and dreams come true in the new year!

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013 WALLPAPER xnys4

 

 

This entry was posted in Aging, Children, Family, Health, Life, New Years Eve and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mindful Living

  1. I wish you all the same! I’ve been taking steps toward mindful living, but hadn’t thought of it in those terms until I read this post. My own push that direction was finding anxiety overwhelming my life, and finding my way to the book Just One Thing. I’m still struggling to find a good balance, but my oh my, is life ever sweeter than it was 4-5 months ago!

Leave a Reply

