Halloween: Love It Or Hate It?

What?  How could anyone hate Halloween?

When I was a kid, as soon as school started in September, my best friend and I would sit outside after school every day,  planning  what we wanted to be for Halloween.  With seven kids in my family, there was not time for my Mother to sew costumes, store-bought were just fine.  The year that I was “tweety bird” was my favorite!

Now as an adult I still like Halloween.  Even though my kids are grown I still decorate and buy candy for all the little ghosts and goblins in the neighborhood.  Depending on the weather we will usually get around 100 kids “trick or treating” every year.

But I know there are a lot of you out there.  You know who you are. You hate the sound of the doorbell, don’t want to get up and answer the door dozens of times.  Maybe you buy a certain amount of candy and leave a bowl outside your door that says “Please take just one” and then you go out to dinner or a movie.

Or maybe you are the ones that turn off  your porch lights, darken the house completely and hide in the back room.  I have a relative that does that!  But I remember that even those houses fed into the atmosphere and lore of the scariest places in the neighborhood on Halloween night!

This entry was posted in Autumn, culture, Halloween, Holidays, Life, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halloween: Love It Or Hate It?

  1. Pingback: I Hate Halloween But I Love Tom Hanks! | ARay of Sunshine

Leave a Reply

