Shopping In My Closet

The son of a close friend got married last week and I had decided what to wear for the occasion.  But, at the last-minute I thought that the shoes were not going to work: not comfortable, not good for dancing.    All politics aside, I remember when Michelle Bachmann was taking grief from lots of people after she stated that she gets migraines from wearing high heels.

Well, it is true for me too.  The higher the heel the quicker the onset of the migraine.  Now, I am a high heel kind of girl, always have been.  So, I continue to look for shoes that are lower, but still a heel.  Off to the DSW I go, convinced that I will find something that works, at a good  “end of season” price.

An hour later I had tried on maybe 20 pairs of shoes, some of them twice.  None felt that good and I was getting a headache from just walking around in the store with different shoes on.  So, I gave up and decided I would go with the shoes I had planned.

Back at home I had this “brilliant” idea.  Maybe I should look in my closet a little more.  So I started pulling out boxes, and sure enough, there they were.  I admit, I do not remember buying these shoes.  I don’t recall having them in my closet, and honestly, I don’t have that many shoes.  I don’t like shopping for shoes.  But there they are, and they are perfect.

I have been making a concerted effort to use up all the food that I buy.  In fact blogs on WordPress have provided me with a lot of inspiration for new dishes.  Now, I have learned another lesson and I will try to use up the clothes and the shoes that I have already bought.  I just need to look in my own closet.

By the way, the wedding was beautiful, the dancing was great with no migraine!  The picture at the top of this post is a dream closet, but not mine.

This entry was posted in culture, Fashion, Life, Money and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shopping In My Closet

  1. Shelley says:

    The ‘closet shoes” look perfect!

  2. Pingback: Feeling My Feelings « Being a Beautiful Mess

  3. Pingback: Organizers for your Shoes | Organize Your Closets

Leave a Reply

