Three Summer Recipes

Every summer in this part of the country we look forward to the Olathe Sweet corn.  This year, because of the early heat, the corn is ready for eating.  It is white, sweet and delicious.  I know that every region has their favorite corn.  When I was a kid in upstate New York, we would sometimes go on a Sunday afternoon, as a family of nine, to the roadside vegetable stand to get fresh fruit and Seneca Chief corn. They would bring the corn in by tractor from the field in back of the stand and dump it on big tables for the eager buyers that were waiting.  It was a summer tradition.

So, I’ve got my Olathe Sweet, now what to eat with it.  At the beginning of the summer WordPress had a post about 7 food blogs to follow.  So I checked them out and they were great, with beautiful pictures and good-looking recipes.  So, fresh ingredients from the garden, two recipes from food blogs and one classic recipe from my Mother-in law and I think I am set!

I’m starting with a recipe that I remember from my childhood.   With thanks to http://thefauxmartha.com/  it is Catalina salad dressing.

Catalina Dressing
slightly adapted from Kitchen Simplicity; yields about 1 1/2 cups

1/4 c. organic ketchup
1/4 c. white wine vinegar
1/4 c. onion, lightly chopped
3 tbsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. worcestershire sauce
1/2 c. canola oil (or other mild tasting oil)
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Place the first 6 ingredients in a food processor or hi-powered blender (Vitamix). Puree until smooth.
2. Slowly add in the canola oil and continue to blend until emulsified or smooth. Season with salt and pepper.
3. Use or store in refrigerator for up to 3 weeks. Leftover jam jars make great dressing containers. Shake well before serving.

My attempt at the dressing looks pretty good and is delicious!

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first harvest of cucumbers from my garden is the basis for the next recipe, a favorite from my husband’s family and passed on to me by my Mother-in-law.

 

 

 

Marinated Cucumbers

1/4 cup water

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup vinegar

1/2 tsp pepper

Boil all ingredients gently for 5 minutes. Cool and pour over sliced cucumbers.  Store in refrigerator.

Very refreshing summer dish!

The last recipe is, with thanks, from http://nataliesdailycrave.com/ blog and is a recipe for sriracha mayo, a spicy sauce which she used for zucchini fries, but I am gong to adapt for the artichoke, feta, lemon fritters that I bought from Whole Foods.

Sriracha Mayo

  • 1/3 cup mayo
  • 1 tbsp Sriracha hot sauce (or more to taste)
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • salt to taste

Combine all ingredients in small bowl and mix well.

I added a tsp of ketchup and a squeeze of fresh orange juice just to lighten the sauce a bit.

Summer delights!  Delicious!

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Gardening, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Three Summer Recipes

  1. This looks excellent.
    I, too, have been making corn, cucumbers, and other fresh vegetables. 🙂

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

  2. Curly Miri says:

    Oh my, you’ve made me hungry, everything looks so delicious. I will have to try the dressing, thanks for sharing!

  3. bang the drum says:

    Yum! All sound/look great.

Leave a Reply

