My Top Five Concerts Ever

The new trailers for the summer blockbusters are beginning to show up to entice us into the theaters.  I saw this one for Rock of Ages.  I’ve seen the picture of Tom Cruise as a rock star in this movie and it will be kind of interesting to see if he pulls it off.

This is a musical woven around the songs of the eighties:  Bon Jovi, Twisted Sister, Journey etc.   I have to admit that those years were a bit of a blur for me.  Both of our kids were born in the early eighties.  Enough said.  However, we all have certain soundtracks that run in our head when we think about growing up.  I was a Beatles kid.  The British invasion conquered a little piece of my heart.  I loved them all:  The Beatles, Peter and Gordon, The Dave Clark Five, The Kinks, The Rolling Stones,  Marianne Faithful and on and on.

The Beatles wave to fans after arriving at Ken...

The Beatles wave to fans after arriving at Kennedy Airport. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

After high school the soundtrack of my life added visuals.  My early twenties were spent in Chicago and Los Angeles. I had access to lots of good music and I saw as many concerts as I could afford.  These are my top five concerts (I think) that I have ever seen.

1)  Janis Joplin:  Nov 23rd 1969,  Chicago.  It was less than a year later when Janis died of an overdose.

2)  Joe Cocker and the Grease Band and The Who:  May 1969 at the Kinetic Playground in Chicago, a small venue where you sat on the floor in front of the stage and the cover charge was five dollars.  The Who were dynamic and the sweat would fly off the microphone onto us as Roger Daltry swung it around.  Joe Cocker was mesmerizing!

3)  Jefferson Airplane: May 14th, 1969.  This was a free concert on a beautiful warm night at Grant Park in downtown Chicago.  There were 50,000 people at the concert with lots of police presence due to the violence at the Democratic National Convention the year before.  As far as I remember it was totally peaceful.

4)  Cat Stevens: Los Angeles, 1971.  Just a guitar and a singer and those beautiful songs.

5)  OK, I lied  I have more than five favorites.  So this is honorable mention to a few more:  Eric Clapton and Cream at the Kinetic Playground,  Moody Blues in LA,  Elton John a number of times, very early in his career, who always put on a great show.  Lastly, Jethro Tull, a unique group that never failed to deliver a creative concert.

Deutsch: Elton John in der Musikhalle Hamburg,...

Deutsch: Elton John in der Musikhalle Hamburg, März 1972 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now, if you asked my husband his favorite concert he would say any of the six times that he saw the Grateful Dead.  So, those are our favorites, what about yours?

This entry was posted in Baby Boomers, culture, Entertainment, Life, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Top Five Concerts Ever

  1. Gardner's World says:

    Cool list – you are lucky to have been there! For me, it is witnessing a band who are still playing in a small venue, and where it becomes obvious they have a very special talent and are about to make it big: The Specials in 1979, Echo & the Bunnymen in 1980, and U2 in 1979

Leave a Reply

