Lesson Learned

Beautiful spring weather in the Rocky Mountain region.  It doesn’t get any better.  Two days of temperatures in the seventies have infused us all with spring fever.

                      

The skies are a brilliant blue, the fish are up and seeking the sun while the green shoots of spring flowers are beginning to abound.

                  

But, alas, we know it can’t last.  The weather teams on all stations are calling for a thirty degree drop in temps, freezing rain, snow and generally nasty weather.  So I decide that I will go and take pictures in the nice warm weather yesterday and then I will take pictures today after the storm rolls in.  I think it will be a nice study in compare and contrast, you know, one day the places are warm and sunny the next covered with spring snow.  So, I go outside and catch a picture of the storm rolling in…….

…and one last picture of the night sky, the calm before the storm!

During the night the winds come in, the temperature drops and the house is rattling.  I wake in the morning ready with my camera for the foggy, dreary, freezing rain or inches of new fallen snow.  I go to the window and… oops!…. you guessed it.  Not a drop or a flake, no fog, no drizzle, no covered lawns.  No compare and contrast.  So now I need a new blog idea for today.  I recall some of the little sayings my Mother always had for me when things didn’t work out.  Maybe something about those……..

The best laid schemes of mice and men often go astray.

Never count your chickens before they hatch.

You’re only here for a short visit.  So don’t forget to stop and smell the roses.     

I guess I should have spent more time smelling the roses and enjoying the beautiful day yesterday and less time planning for the storm that never came.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Life, Parents, Seasons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

