Anxiously Awaiting the First Sign

I remember when we were little and it snowed.  We would just love to dress up in our snow suits and go outside to build snowmen, have snowball fights and build snow forts.  In my neighborhood there was always a house that flooded their yard for ice skating.  There were seven kids in my family and we would be in and out of the house all the time.  My poor Mom, getting us all in our snowsuits, gloves, hats, mittens and boots, only to have at least one of us come in ten minutes later with the inevitable cry of “I have to go to the bathroom”.

By the time I was in high school I felt that those slate gray clouds arrived with the cold, damp, snowy weather in November and lingered, for what felt like forever. February was always the worst. The holidays were over, we were back in school with no end in sight and there wasn’t even a hint of spring in the air. Very depressing!

I live in a part of the country now that is known for beautiful, bright, sunny winter weather.

This year feels different, though.   The East Coast is having one of the warmest winters on record as is most of the country.  But where I live the snow has been hanging around for weeks, the skies remain gray, it feels cold and damp and I can’t sit in my backyard with my husband at lunchtime.

I am waiting for the first sign.  Even the fish in the backyard pond seem to be anxiously waiting for the sun to break through the thin layer of ice.

We are all waiting for that first sign that Spring is on the way!

This entry was posted in Baby Boomers, culture, Gardening, Life, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

