Give Me The Simple Life

Lately I have heard lots of people talking about simplifying their lives.  There are magazines dedicated to living Real Simple, television shows and books on de-cluttering and organizing.  Even my husband has been saying that he wants to simplify his life.  Since the recession, his business takes so much energy that everything else seems like too much.  Every day (weather permitting) we try to sit in the yard and enjoy the day.

But, I have to admit, the yard is kicking my butt.  It takes a lot of work .  We love relaxing out there, but as we get older it may be getting to be too much.  The kids are grown and the pets are gone and the nest is empty.  I love my house, but it may be too much.  I still have un-emptied boxes in the basement from when we moved in 12 years ago.  Time to simplify?

I have never been a BIG shopper, I have been more of a medium shopper.  I admit, though, I am one of those girls who think that those clothes I wore in the eighties are going to come back in style.  Consequently, my closet could use a little cleaning out.

A couple of years ago my daughter was in my closet pulling out some of the aforementioned eighties clothes.  Don’t ask me why, but I had a propensity for polka dots and dresses with open backs.  What can I say, it was the “flash dance” era.  Oh, and don’t forget to throw in some sparkly fake gems on the collar of a little black dress.  So, my daughter began trying things on and looking in the mirror.  Finally she turned to me and said, “Mother, who WERE you?”.   I guess that should have been a sign.

Time to simplify, but it’s going to have to be a little at a time.

This entry was posted in Aging, Baby Boomers, Family, humor, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

