Is 73-years-old Elderly?

There was an article in our local paper the other day about a “silver alert” for a 73-year-old elderly man who was missing.  The resolution to the story is that the gentleman was found safe.  But, in the meantime I was left to wonder.  Is 73 really elderly?  I don’t know about the rest of the baby boomers, but for me I guess I keep raising the bar.

When I was in my twenties, I would have agreed that 73 was indeed elderly.  But as I work my way through my sixties I hope I don’t feel elderly when I reach my seventies.  There is a saying that goes, “Do not regret growing older.  It is a privilege denied to many”.  I agree with that, but let’s hold off on the elderly label for seventy year olds.

There are still lots of things that we baby boomers want to do into our seventies, eighties and beyond.  For instance:

A woman in India gave birth to twins at the age of seventy.   OK, bad example.

A 70-year-old woman in Minnesota robbed a bank.   Not the kind of thing I had in mind.

At the age of  74  Jane Fonda releases two new workout videos.

 

 Now we’re getting somewhere.

 

 

 

 

In her eighties Barbara Walters is still traveling the world to interview heads of state while still doing daily tv shows and specials.

 

Doesn’t sound too elderly to me.

 

 

The ubiquitous Betty White will be 90 on January 17th.

 

Need I say more!

This entry was posted in Aging, Baby Boomers, humor, Life, Seniors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is 73-years-old Elderly?

  1. tlf says:

    I know what you mean. Even though I get a year older each December, my mind’s eye still thinks of me as roughly 29. Maybe some days 32. I guess to the world anything over 65 is considered “elderly” but it’s all in your attitude as to whether or not you act it.

  2. Lori Franks says:

    I turned half of century this past birthday. It’s a hard one but 73 is still 23 years away. I could do a lot of fun stuff in 23 years! No more babies tho!

  3. gpicone says:

    I’m with you! I don’t want to feel older and I don’t want to get older!

  4. pobept says:

    “Is 73 really elderly?”
    Grin, I’m 66 ans I must say 73 is not Elderly. At that age the only classification that fits i they are just plain and simple Old People…
    Happy older people gardening

Leave a Reply

