A New Challenge

The holiday season is upon us whether we are ready or not.  The glow of carved pumpkins has barely been extinguished only to be replaced by the twinkling lights and carols bright of the Christmas season.  It seems that Thanksgiving is no longer the transition between the two.

For the past few years I have dabbled in the art of jewelry making.  I decided this year that I would take on the challenge of making a hobby into a small business.

So I am torching, hammering, stamping, bending and forging my way to a collection of necklaces, earrings and bracelets to sell at a holiday artisan show.

I am a bit surprised at how much I love working with the tools that are used to make jewelry.  Now when we go to the hardware store it is my husband who has to come looking for me amongst the hammers and the center punches.

I have to admit that there is also something to be said for spending an afternoon torching and pounding the raw metal into something beautiful.

But the best part is taking that metal and mixing it with beautiful beads from all over the world.

I also know that the secret to getting this collection ready in time for the show is simply to get started.  So, I will let you know how it goes.

This entry was posted in Art, Business, Jewelry, Life, Seniors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Challenge

  1. Janet says:

    We will want to hear how the jewelry show goes. Loved the video!

Leave a Reply

