Something To Laugh About

A number of years ago I took my nephew to a football game.   He was in his twenties at the time, had never been to a pro game and he was excited to get a chance to see the Forty Niners come to town to play.  It was, as they say,  “a beautiful night for football”.  While only a preseason game with not much at stake, the night was balmy and the crowd was festive. The couple sitting in front of us looked to be in their forties and had obviously had three or four glasses of “festive” by the time we got to our seats.  While not obnoxious beer spilling football fans they caught our eye because they were having a great time.  They were laughing, whispering and joking with each other.  The woman was thoroughly enjoying everything her husband/boyfriend? was saying and she would throw her arms around him and they would kiss.  After a while my nephew turned to me and said, “I hope that after I’m married for a long time my wife and I are still giggin’  like that”.

While I had never really heard the term giggin, I knew exactly what he meant.  I wondered over the years if couples married for twenty, thirty, forty or more years could still have fun like that.  I think my kids would attest to the fact that my husband has kept me laughing and entertained for our entire marriage.  But looking into the future I think that the couple in this video, trying to master a webcam, gives us all something to look forward to.

This entry was posted in Aging, humor, Life, marriage, Seniors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Something To Laugh About

  1. Bang the drum says:

    Love the video…good thing it ended when it did; not sure where that was headed

  2. etomczyk says:

    I dropped by to thank you for subscribing to my blog and I had myself a delightful laugh. I like how your nephew described the love of the couple by the use of the verb giggling. I wish I had included that in my marriage story. Giggling implies a comfortability, a contentment, and an ease that is to be cherished in a marriage. Awesome! Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

