My Week in the Fortress of Solitude

My husband went to visit his parents last week to help them look at some assisted living apartments.  It was not going to be an easy visit and seemed best that he go by himself.   My husband and I have been married for 32 very happy years.  We spend much of our time together including breakfast, lunch and dinner almost every day. The kids are out of the house now and we are empty nesters.   So, when my husband planned this trip I opted for a quiet week at home.  I remember George Costanza (on Seinfeld of course) talking to Jerry about Superman’s Fortress of Solitude.  So I thought that this could be my time in my own little fortress of solitude.

There is something freeing about having a week where you are left to your own devices.  I enjoyed quiet when I felt like silence.  I ate the food I wanted when I felt like it.  I worked on creating my jewelry as much as I wanted, not stopping for anything.  I watched a little Mildred Pierce and a little football,  but also did a little reading.  I reveled in the gloriously warm autumn weather.  I enjoyed just a small break in the usual routine.

But then the solitude started to crumble.  Little visitors started showing up.  After all it is that time of the year.  Every little creature is looking for a warm place to stay for the winter.  The first one was tiny,  just a little blip scurrying across the floor.  The second and third were coming up the stairs from the basement.  The last one, looking much like the above picture, seemed to show up and disappear at will, much to my chagrin.

Now, I have to make a confession.  I am not very merciful with these intruders.  My husband has a very big heart and a healthy respect for karma.  He catches spiders in the house and takes them outside to their freedom.  I, on the other hand, feel that these creatures have broken the sacred trust.  I do not try to take up residence in their houses, and do not expect them to try to move themselves into mine.

We all know what would happen if I invaded this space.  That spider would not waste a minute trying to wrap me up in those silky strong threads.  I am sure I would be nothing more than winter fare for the spider family!

Luckily, I don’t have to worry about this anymore.   My husband is back. We have returned to sitting in the backyard every day after lunch and discussing the days events.  We are again watching football together on the weekend.  He is playing his electric guitar every night after dinner.  The silence has been broken.  The spiders, once more, are being transported outside to freedom.   Karma has been restored in our house and all is right with the world.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Life, Parents, spiders, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

