Love the fall! Hate the fall!

Fall is my favorite time of the year.  I look forward to the cooler weather, the changing leaves and the football games.  But “fall” can strike fear in the heart of every older person.  One out of three adults over the age of sixty-five falls each year.  In this age group, falls are the most common cause of non-fatal injuries.  My Mother has fallen numerous times over the years.  Almost all have resulted in a trip to the hospital.

The end of Summer comes and Fall arrives every year without fail. But when should we anticipate these inevitable falls that happen as we get older?   I think that they are already sneaking in!

During the summer I fell in the backyard while gardening (only my dignity was wounded).  A couple of weeks ago I slipped off the front porch  resulting in a slightly sprained ankle.  So, a new goal for myself is to work on my balance.  It is just another thing that we tend to lose as we get older.  I have pulled out my Bosu ball.  It is a balance trainer and a challenge, but I think it is worth pursuing.

I have my plan in place, but maybe my husband also needs to work on his balance.  A month ago we were in the kitchen when he squatted down to check some water leaking from the dishwasher.  The next thing we knew he had lost his balance and rolled backward onto the floor.  He looked like a turtle in his shell, on his back, with arms and legs in the air.  Needless to say he was laughing so hard that he couldn’t get up and I couldn’t help because I was laughing so hard that I had to run out of the room to the bathroom. ( Just another little gift to women as we age.)  But that subject is for another blog!

This entry was posted in Aging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love the fall! Hate the fall!

  1. Jessica says:

    I’d say get your husband onto that ball…with lots of pillows around it in case he falls, of course

Leave a Reply

